Kanchipuram temples

Kanchipuram, the Silk City, is also known by its abundance of temples from ancient times. I would like to point out two of the most memorable ones.

Ulagalantha Perumal Temple looks so colourful, you could imagine it would fit well in Disneyland or a cartoon-like world. Nevertheless this temple is about a  thousand years old(although I believe not all parts of it). The brightly coloured building was rather spectacular.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I stayed in Kanchi just for two days. On the second morning I got up at 6 am to visit almost 1400 years old Kailasanathar Temple. The oldest temple in town was practically deserted early in the morning(it is open from 5.30am). I had the most serene blissful moment for myself, meditating in one of the ancient mini shrines, soaking up the very special energy of this holy place that has generated over the centuries.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here´s my tip for travelers in hot countries: as for me it was usually too hot in South India between 12-4pm, I used to get up at 6am and do the sightseeing before the big heat arrived. So by midday I would be chilling out somewhere cool and dare to come outside again when the heat had given in, later in the afternoon. It is also a brilliant way to avoid the crowds, especially in touristy places.

One thought on “Kanchipuram temples

Leave a Reply

